Energy company earnings season gearing up

Slew of earnings calls planned in late July, early August

Publicly-traded companies connected with electric power generation are again gearing up for their quarterly earnings calls with financial analysts.

During the quarterly calls, done shortly after earnings are reported, power company chief executives and other top managers typically answer Wall Street questions on results, trends and major infrastructure issues.

Many if not all of these calls are webcast typically on the ‘investors’ page of the company website. Most companies keep replays of the calls available on their website for 30 days or more.

Below you will find a rundown of some of the calls and times compiled by GenerationHub. (This is not a comprehensive list and some publicly-traded power companies have not yet announced a date for their earnings call). All time slots are Eastern Time unless otherwise indicated:

Thursday July 23:

** CMS Energy (NYSE:CMS) will discuss its second-quarter results and provide a business and financial outlook at 8:30 a.m. EDT on Thursday, July 23.

** American Electric Power (NYSE:AEP) scheduled a quarterly earnings conference call with financial analysts for 9 a.m. EDT Thursday, July 23.

** Chicago Bridge & Iron (NYSE:CBI) will host a conference call at 4 p.m. Central time (5 p.m. ET), following the release of its second quarter financial results.

Friday July 24:

** DTE Energy (NYSE: DTE) will announce its second quarter 2015 earnings on Friday July 24 at 9 a.m.

Tuesday July 28:

** CONSOL Energy (NYSE:CNX) will holds its earnings call at 10 a.m. ET.

** Portland General Electric (NYSE:POR) will host an analyst conference call and webcast at 11 a.m. ET on Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Wednesday July 29:

** Exelon (NYSE:EXC) plans its earnings call at 10 a.m. CT (11 a.m. ET).

** Southern (NYSE:SO) will hold its earnings call at 1 p.m. ET.

** WEC Energy Group (WEC), formally Wisconsin Energy, will issue its 2015 second quarter and first half conference call for security analysts at 1:30 p.m. CT, 2:30 p.m. ET.

Thursday July 30:

** TECO Energy (NYSE:TE) will host a webcast and conference call with the financial community on Thursday, July 30, at 9 a.m. Eastern time.

** Calpine (NYSE:CPN) will holds its call at 9 a.m. CT (10 a. m. ET).

** SCANA (NYSE:SCG) will discuss quarterly results in a conference call with analysts at 3 p.m. ET.

** IDACORP (NYSE: IDA) will hold an analyst conference call at 2:30 p.m. Mountain Time (4:30 p.m. Eastern Time) to discuss the second quarter earnings.

** Edison International (NYSE:EIX) will hold its conference call with analysts at 1:30 p.m. (Pacific Daylight Time/ 4:30 p.m. EDT).

Friday July 31:

** Ameren (NYSE:AEE) will discuss second quarter 2015 earnings and other matters in a conference call with analysts on Friday, July 31, at 9 a.m. Central Time (10 a.m. Eastern Time).

** FirstEnergy (NYSE:FE) will hold its earnings call with time TBD.

** Public Service Enterprise Group (NYSE:PSEG) will hold a quarterly earnings conference call and webcast on Friday July 31 at 11 a.m. EDT.

** Empire District Electric Company (NYSE:EDE) will hold its quarterly conference call to discuss the results for the second quarter and twelve months ended June 30, 2015 on Friday, July 31, at 1 p.m.

Monday Aug. 3:

** PPL (NYSE:PPL) will hold a conference call with investors at 8:30 a.m. ET.

**NextEra Energy Partners, LP (NYSE: NEP) and NextEra Energy (NYSE: NEE) will discuss second quarter financial results during a live webcast beginning at 9 a.m. ET on Aug. 3.

Tuesday Aug. 4:

** NRG Energy (NYSE:NRG) will hold its earnings webcast and conference call at 8 a.m. ET on Tuesday Aug. 4.  

**Entergy (NYSE:ETR) will hold its quarterly earnings call at 11 a.m. ET.

Wednesday Aug. 5:

** Babcock & Wilcox (NYSE:BW) expects to webcast a discussion of its second quarter 2015 results at 8:30 a.m. ET.

** Dominion (NYSE:D) and affiliate Dominion Midstream Partners, LP (NYSE: DM), will host their second-quarter earnings conference call at 10 a.m. ET.

Thursday Aug. 6:

**OGE Energy Corp. (NYSE: OGE) will hold its quarterly conference call to discuss 2nd quarter 2015 results at 9 a.m. ET.

**Duke Energy (NYSE:DUK) will host its earnings call for analysts is scheduled for 10 a.m. ET.

Friday Aug. 7:

**Dynegy (NYSE:DYN) plans to host a conference call and webcast at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT on Friday, August 7.

** General Plains Energy (NYSE:GXP) will conduct a webcast and conference call at 9:00 a.m. EDT.

Tuesday Aug. 11:

**Talen Energy (NYSE:TLN) will discuss quarterly results and the company's general business outlook during a conference call and webcast that will begin at 8:30 a.m. ET.

Wayne Barber
About the Author

Wayne Barber

Wayne Barber, Chief Analyst for the GenerationHub, has been covering power generation, energy and natural resources issues at national publications for more than 20 years. Prior to joining PennWell he was editor of Generation Markets Week at SNL Financial for nine years. He has also worked as a business journalist at both McGraw-Hill and Financial Times Energy. Wayne also worked as a newspaper reporter for several years. During his career has visited nuclear reactors and coal mines as well as coal and natural gas power plants.

Wayne can be reached at wayneb@pennwell.com.